Weird Al Parody

“One of my pet peeves is that sometimes
the talents of my band get overlooked because,
and it was the same problem that Frank Zappa had,
with a lot of groups that use humor, people don’t realize
there’s a lot of craft behind the comedy.”
Al Yankovic

Grapefruit Diet

My husband and I were listening to my iPhone in the car, and of course I had the phone tuned to my Steve Martin Radio station, when a Weird Al song came on. We love Weird Al’s parodies, but this one we had never heard before and had us laughing out loud.

The song was from his Running with Scissors album, and is Grapefruit Diet, a pastiche of Zoot Suit Riot by the Cherry Poppin’ Daddies. 

Weird Al never did a video for this song, but I was able to find a YouTube video that I thought everyone would enjoy. If you’re dieting or have ever had to lose weight, you might enjoy this entertaining Weird Al parody.

Shine On

4 thoughts on “Weird Al Parody

  1. I have to agree with Weird Al’s comment about being taken seriously. Zappa was a genius, yet because he wasn’t producing pop, he was always looked at with a peculiar eye by many. I’m sure that anyone at that level, who can make a song sound so close to the original and have fun with it, must be accomplished. Just like Steve Martin’s funny banjo playing – you know that he rocks it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its so true. A few years back an Aussie group had a song called, “Horror Movies”, ( a take on the dreadful news on the nighttime news broadcasts”,
    One of the last lines was, Horror Movies, its the 6:30 News
    A friend of mine knew the song for years, and one day confided he’d just worked out it was about the tv news!

    The first song I think I ever decoded when I was growing up was Dylan’s “Sub-terraian Homesick Blues”
    Fascinating how we take so many things at face value.
    Great comedy is a craft and parody is such a heightened statement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

