Keep Moving Forward

“You may not control all the events that happen to you,
but you can decide not to be reduced by them.”
Maya Angelou

Happy New Year

Happy New Year.

Day one of 2016. New Years Day has always been a springboard for most of my life changing new beginnings. But as we all know from experience, it’s not easy to keep those resolutions. I think this 20th Century proverb I found pretty much sums it up:

Your New Years resolution
Resolve to renew
All your old resolves.
And add a few
That are new.
Resolve to keep them
As long as you can.
What more can a
Poor man do.

Weeks before New Years Eve, I began making my list of goals for the new year. I reviewed my list from 2015 and was happy that I did reach some of my goals. However, the goals that I didn’t reach, have now moved to the top of my 2016 goal list.

As I prepared and pondered over my Goals for the Year, I happen to read a post from a fellow blogger, Erika Kind that inspired me. Erika wrote about how our past does not define our future. She wrote about . . . how the experience you made in the past is not the experience that lies in the future.

Never believe that whatever happened in the past is direction for the future.

When I read this post, a light went off in my head. Her writing rang so true to what I wanted to work on for the coming year. Not only to work on, but to make it my mantra. To learn not only to let go of the past, also to learn from the past. And most importantly, no matter what happens to keep moving forward.

Shine On

7 thoughts on “Keep Moving Forward

  1. What a beautiful and poignant post, JR! That is so coming from your heart. I love how you said: “Let go of the past, learn from the past, and no matter what happend keep moving forward.” That is the bottom line. May I quote you with this statement? Happy New Year, my dear friend! A new year, new adventures, and new experiences to make! 😊 💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

