Light The Way for Humankind

“There are stars whose radiance is visible on Earth,
though they have long been extinct. There are people
whose brilliance continues to light the world,
though they are no longer among the living.
These lights are particularly bright
when the night is dark.
They light the way for humankind.”
Hannah Senesh

Connected by the Light

This Christmas we had a full moon. We haven’t had a full moon on Christmas since 1977. The same year the JPL/NASA Voyager Spacecraft was launched. A lot has changed in the world since 1977.

As I stared at the full moon Christmas evening, the brilliant light of the Moon brought back memories of a faithful friend of mine. A friend I worked with, socialized with, and who I loved and admired for over thirty years.

Though my friend and I didn’t see or talk daily, we always seemed to connect during the holidays. It was 10:00 pm on New Year’s Eve in California, a few years before this friend had passed away. I was on my balcony looking up at the full radiant Moon. As I stared at the Moon, I wondered if my friend was looking up at this same Moon light. Wondering too if he was thinking of me.

When I left my balcony and returned to my living room, I heard an incoming email notification on my laptop. I was elated to see the email was from my faithful friend. He was vacationing in Belize, as he always did during the holiday season. The email simply read:

JR, It’s midnight in Belize.  I’m looking up at a magnificent moon over the bay here in Belize and am thinking of you. It’s still a wonder to me that we all can see the same Moon light from different places–albeit at different times and longitudes, but with no major physics correction involved. John Muir once said, ‘When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the universe.’  Happy New Year 

The holidays always bring me back to this dear old faithful friend. I miss my friend. I miss our long talks. Talks about life, history, and whether or not we are alone in the Universe. I miss the special connection we had. A connection that I believe all of us have the ability of obtaining.

Connections so strong, that even when the person is gone, you never lose it. Because, all of us have the energy and light within us to light the way for humankind.

Shine On

4 thoughts on “Light The Way for Humankind

Leave a Reply

