Holiday’s Past

“I like to compare the holiday season
with the way a child listens to a favorite story.
The pleasure is in the familiar way the story begins,
the anticipation of familiar turns it takes,
the familiar moments of suspense, and
the familiar climax and ending.”
Fred Rogers

Holiday's Past

The day after Christmas I found myself watching old Christmas TV shows and movies, like The Twilight Zone and  A Christmas Story. I watched  an episode of The Twilight Zone from 1960 that I’ve watched maybe a dozen times, but this time I saw the story in a whole new light.

Rod Serling is a favorite writer of mine for a very long time. My admiration for Serling stems from his ability to take a short story about an individual and make you care what happens to that person. He could show humanity in so many different lights. Always subtly weaving into each story a political or human antidote.

In the violent world we live in today, watching old Christmas shows and movies gives us a feeling of comfort. We’re familiar with the story. We know how it ends. Yet as an adult, each time we watch, we see something new or different. Each time we learn something new about ourselves and about holiday’s past.

Shine On

2 thoughts on “Holiday’s Past

  1. So true, Julie. It’s one of the reasons that I love old films so much. They bring me to a time that seemed more gentle, more civil and filled with hope. I think that as we age, the meanings in films and books become more nuanced, and we can derive new meanings from them. I think that’s part of what makes a film or book great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

