Frankenstein of Flora

“We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant.
You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or
just think it’s going to get on by itself.
You’ve got to keep watering it.
You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it.
John Lennon

The Power of Plants

For decades I had a beautiful garden that I nurtured and cherished.

Then we relocated and most of my plants I handed over to friends and neighbors. I knew the relocation would kill my plants, and I didn’t want that to happen.

After a few years without plants, I’ve begun to slowly buy some indoor plants and see how they do in our new home. I tend to buy young plants or plants that are left for dead. I do this mostly because I enjoy bringing plants back to life and seeing the young plants grow into big beautiful plants.

The first week in November I bought a half-dead Aspidistra elatior aka Cast-iron plant. The plant was in a bin at Loew’s and had a $5 ticket on it. Seeing this sad looking plant, I snatched it up.

When I got home, my husband asked why I would buy a dead plant? I told him that I thought I could bring life back to the plant. Who do you think you are, the Frankenstein of flora? I ignored his snide remark and went about caring for the plant.

I cleaned the plant up, removing all the dead leaves, trimmed off the brittle tips and drenched it with water. Then, I waited for a few days to see if it came back to life. Slowly the pale green leaves began to brighten and perk up lifting itself up toward the sun light.

Aspidistra plants are common house plants and can tolerate a lot of neglect which is why it’s nicknamed the Cast-iron plant. Today I noticed new growth on the plant and how it looks fuller and the leaves a much richer green. But, I like to believe it was my care of the plant that saved the plant. Thanks to my hubby, I now think of myself as the Frankenstein of flora.

Shine On

5 thoughts on “Frankenstein of Flora

  1. Pingback: Peace Lily | Chronicles of a Blogaholic

  2. May I quote from the movie “Frankenstein”? “IT’S ALIVE, IT’s ALIVE”. I do the same at Lowes. I feel as though I’m saving a life. I bought an orchid for one dollar, about three years ago. It’s bloomed every year for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

