The Ones We Love

“I am grateful for what I am and have.
My thanksgiving is perpetual.”
Henry David Thoreau

Thanksgiving A Week Away.jpg

Today my husband and I started shopping for the Thanksgiving Holiday.

For the past twenty plus years, we have hosted Thanksgiving dinner for our family and friends. The planning begins weeks prior to the holiday. Pre-ordering the twenty pound fresh Willie Bird Turkey; purchasing the tins for all the left-overs and pre-ordering the bread and homemade Italian sausage for the stuffing from our favorite Italian Deli. Then shopping for fresh produce and herbs just days before the big day leading up to the entire day of baking and cooking.

Every year I suggest and vote we go to a nice restaurant for Thanksgiving but every year I get voted down. This year I finally came to the realization that no matter how I protest I will be making Thanksgiving dinner, until I’m either dead or in an old folks’ home and banned from cooking and using sharp instruments.

This year we have so much to be thankful for. Thankful that we have the means to put another turkey on the dinner table. But most of all, thankful that we will be spending another year together with the ones we love.

Shine On

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Ones We Love

  1. Thanksgiving is quickly becoming my favorite holiday. It’s the one day, with the exception of Black Friday, that hasn’t become excessively commercial. It’s truly a day of family and friends, sitting at a table as did generations past, while sharing food and drink.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

