Laughter is the Best Medicine

A day without laughter is a day wasted.”
Charlie Chaplin

Danny Kaye

A sincere compliment can really boost ones morale. I’m not one who demands constant attention or praise. But, it sure is nice to hear, “good job” once in a while. I always have showered my son and husband with compliments. Whenever I accomplish a major hurdle, my son is always the first to give me a compliment.

After 20+ years living together, I’ve come to realize it’s just not my husbands style to give out compliments easily. I guess my husband’s style is more akin to Don Rickles than Johnny Carson.

A few years back I suggested my husband “get in touch with his feminine side”. So one day he said something that was showing his feelings. When he realized this, he stopped and pointed out to me that, “he was getting in contact with his feminine side”.

He may not dish out kudos or compliments easily, but he makes me laugh. To me, that’s more important than any compliment he could ever give me. When I’m feeling low, I can always count on him to make me laugh.

Fishing for compliments has never been something I’ve ever had to do. And I’m not planning on starting this late in life. Besides, I’d much rather be with someone who makes me laugh, because as the old proverb says, “laughter is the best medicine”.

Shine On

2 thoughts on “Laughter is the Best Medicine

Leave a Reply

