J. D. Salinger

The worst thing that being an artist could do to you would be
that it would make you slightly unhappy constantly.”
J. D. Salinger

J D Salinger

J. D. Salinger, January 1, 1919 to January 27, 2010

In February this year I read the classic novel The Catcher in the Rye, by J. D. Salinger. If you follow my blog you know that when I read a book I always Google the author and learn as much as I can about them.

After reading Salinger’s famous book, I wrote my post on The Catcher in the Rye. I wrote about the similarity between Mr. Salinger and his character in the book, Holden Caulfield.

Salinger was an extremely private person and was not a fan of movies or Hollywood. In fact, during success of the novel, Salinger received (and rejected) numerous offers to adapt The Catcher in the Rye for the screen, including one personally from Samuel Goldwyn. Salinger was so adamant about this, he left specific instructions in his will. He authorized a timetable, to start between 2015 and 2020, for the release of several unpublished works including instructions for movie rights to, The Catcher in the Rye.

I wasn’t surprised at all today to read in Variety that actor Nicholas Hoult will play J.D. Salinger in the upcoming movie Rebel in the Rye. The movie explores the life and mind of the secretive author and will tell the story of the birth of The Catcher in the Rye. The story will touch on Salinger’s rebellious youth, his experiences on the bloody front lines of World War II, enduring great love and terrible loss, a life of rejection to the pages of the New Yorker and his writer’s block — which led to a spiritual awakening.

I don’t know what his will stipulated but from what I’ve read about the man, it sounds to me that Salinger wouldn’t approve of this biopic movie or the fact that his name and life are being depicted in a movie. However, like I said in my original post, I sure hope they do right by him and the captivating life story of J. D. Salinger.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

