This is Not Pretty

“Fashion fades, only style remains the same.”
Coco Chanel

This is Not Pretty

Let’s face it, I’m not exactly a fashionista. There was a time in my life when I was decked out daily in the current fashions. I’d peruse Vogue magazine for fabulous dresses, then sew my own creations.

I haven’t picked up an issue of Vogue in years. Mostly because I’m retired and not concerned about fashion.

The other day I found myself skimming through the April issue of Vogue. There were a few interesting articles, but then I began to notice how utterly ugly some of the so called “fashionable dresses” looked.

Come on Vogue, you can’t be serious with this model in this photo? In my opinion, this is not pretty.

Shine On

5 thoughts on “This is Not Pretty

  1. I don’t know what the people at Vogue were thinking when they put this picture together! I often find fashion shows to be equally senseless, because they never seem to cater to the masses (and I pity the classes that spend money on that) yet they’re reported and covered extensively for the masses.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I can understand what you’re getting at. And yes, there are so many who dream of being that size as the model’s! I am almost her size, genetically and not based on any crash diets or the urge to be like her. I get two types of comments : There’s the older generation which asks me to eat (irrespective that I eat more than their children do!) And the current generation which thinks I am lucky to be blessed with such a figure! Because my figure is ‘apparently’ the dream figure!

      Don’t get me wrong. I love my figure! But I don’t understand what stops others from loving theirs! Why would you want to be so thin when you have far healthier proportions?
      We’ve senselessly been commenting on people’s sizes for ages and look where it’s landed us. :/

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I think today´s currency is mainly attention. And I think it´s much harder to gain attention through something really beautiful than through something ugly and strange. Real beauty takes a lot of effort. I´ve just read a nice quote on Pinterest which seems to fit here: It´s very easy to be different, but very difficult to be better. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Have you seen the documentary “Iris” about the style icon who is about 93 years old? I haven’t. but plan to. It’s great to have one’s own personal style at any age, rather than trying to follow the latest “flavour of the month”or week or year. As Coco Chanel rightly pointed out, it’s about style, not fashion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

