Lasting Impression

“A thousand words
will not leave
so deep an impression
as one deed.”
Henrik Ibsen

Lasting Impression

While I was on vacation, a new neighbor moved in next door. He’s a young computer programmer from New York City. He locked himself out and knocked on our door to use our phone. He was going to call a locksmith, but my husband was able to open his front door using the “old credit card trick.”

This evening I saw our new neighbor and introduced myself. He was telling me how appreciative he was that my husband was able to help him out. I told him he was welcome and to let us know if he ever needs anything. A few minutes later, there was a knock at our door. He wanted to thank my husband again and insisted on giving us a $30 gift card. I tried to tell him that it wasn’t necessary to give us a gift, but he insisted, so I accepted the card.

It doesn’t take much energy to be nice to people and help them, whether you know them or not. That’s what I always love about my husband. He’s always there to lend a hand or help someone who might be in temporary distress. For example, when my son was around seven years old, we were out for dinner, and we saw this young woman who had locked her purse along with her keys in the front seat of her car. The woman was in tears and my husband was able to open the car door for her. It was my sons first experience with how caring and helpful his stepdad is to everyone.

Now that my son is a grown man, I see these same loving qualities in my son. These qualities of my husband, obviously had a lasting impression.

Shine On

3 thoughts on “Lasting Impression

Leave a Reply

