The Nitty-Gritty

“Successful organizing is based on the recognition
that people get organized because
they too have a vision.”
Paul Wellstone

Palm Pilot 1

My First PDA, the Palm Pilot circa 1997.

I like to think of myself as a very detail oriented person. Making “TO DO” lists daily helps me to keep on top of everything. I’m proud to say, rarely does anything fall through the cracks. Also, crossing off each accomplishment throughout my day, gives me great satisfaction when I complete a task.

In the past I used a “Day Runner”. Some of you might remember this company from the 1970s. I actually carried around two of these notebooks, one for work and one for personal appointments.

Then in 1997 my thoughtful husband noticed how much these notebooks weighted me down, so he bought me my first PDA, a “Palm Pilot”. This device was basically the forerunner of the Apple iPhone. This little device held all my work and personal information in one hand with a touch of a stylus-pen (the little pointy-thing).

Enter the new millennium where I began using applications on my laptop, my iPhone, and then my iPad to keep me organized. I very rarely use a pen and paper any more as a “TO DO” list. I’ve probably saved a hundred trees by not writing things down.

This brings me to my husband. He seems to have an aversion to writing down his “TO DOs”. He barks his list at me and wants me to “write it down” for him. Sometimes, when we are in the car and he gives me some tasks to take care of, and it doesn’t get added to my digital “TO DOs”, his request goes in one ear and out the other.

I kinda resolved this problem. I handed him a spiral notepad and a pen. He has been starting to write some things down to remind me, but I still have to tell him, “if it ain’t written down, it ain’t gonna get done”. My mind can’t seem to remember all the details of everyday life, unless he writes it down or I input it into one of my digital devices.

Got to run. My husband just phoned and gave me a task to take care of for him, and he asked me to “write it down” for him.

Excuse me while I get down to the nitty-gritty.

Shine On

One thought on “The Nitty-Gritty

Leave a Reply

