Chasing My Tail

“The ‘self-image’ is the key to human personality and human behavior.
Change the self-image and you change the personality and the behavior.”
Maxwell Maltz

Self Image

Two Thousand pound baby elephant enjoying his bath.

Does My Butt Look Big in This Picture?

You have to admit, most questions you ask someone, you already know the answer. When it comes to a women’s body image, she should never ask her significant other if her butt looks big.

Why?

Because nine times out of ten he will lie and the other one time he’s truthful, it’s because he likes big butts on women.

After reading a recent fitness magazine article on women’s self-image, it stated that 64% of women do not like how their body looks. Another 59% would like to lose at least 10 pounds. A whopping 43% of women say their husband or boyfriend is the person most likely to make them feel good about their weight.

Most of women’s insecurity about their bodies is due to the fact for decades the fashion and movie industry showed us thin, skinny women as role models of beauty. Just in the past few years, with the popularity of stars such as, Jennifer Lopez, Kim Kardashian and Coco, some “junk in your trunk” has become fashionable. But, most insecurities begin long before you look at a fashion magazine.

I believe our insecurities about our physical and intellectual capabilities begin at an early age. Some people I have known, carry these insecurities with them to their grave. For me, it wasn’t until I was in my thirties that I really didn’t give a dam what other’s thought and began to believe in myself. It took a while for me to not let the negativity of others influence my self worth.

We just don’t realize how lucky we are with what we have, until we lose it. Whether it be our flaws that only we can see, or people in our life that we take for granted. We must be happy and grateful for each day. If we lived our lives with more gratitude and less envy, I believe we would enjoy more each and every day.

I’m learning to look forward instead of looking back and constantly chasing my tail.

Shine On

3 thoughts on “Chasing My Tail

  1. I hear you! Big lips, big butts, perhaps big thighs may soon be in fashion. Despite the fact that there has been a slow evolution, the thin, leggy blonde is still very much the norm in magazines and the media.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for this! Just yesterday I went looking for clothes and got pretty sad and frustrated about what they think people should be able to wear… And I´m not overweight, I wear size S – but I hate sport and don´t do fitness stuff. Now I think: This is all so sick. We´re all okay the way we are and I´m going to start sewing! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

