Eagleholic Addiction

“Eagles come in all shapes and sizes,
but you will recognize them
chiefly by their attitudes.”
E. F. Schumacher

Eagleholic Addiction

Pittsburgh Hays Bald Eagle parents caring for their two eggs. Which are due to hatch in two short weeks.

Last year I discovered the Pittsburgh Hays Bald Eagle cam website. Everyday when I woke up, I would watch the progress of a mother and father nesting and raising three eaglet babies. It was such fun to watch these eagles both taking turns caring for the eaglets up to the day all three eaglets flew away.

My family couldn’t believe how obsessed I had become about these iconic birds. The funniest part about watching them daily was interacting with the other eagle followers. As we chatted online daily about the eaglets and the birds daily activity, we each had names for the three babies. I chose to name them after the Bonanza Cartwright family. The smallest eaglet was Little Joe, the middle one was Adam and the largest eaglet I called Hoss. All the eagle followers finally succumbed to my names, and after the babies were about three weeks old, everyone online was calling them Adam, Little Joe and Hoss. My eaglet claim to fame.

This year, once again, I am watching the eagle parents sitting on their nest in the coldest winter recorded in history. On the news tonight, they had a brief story about the family of eagles in Pittsburgh and how people such as myself are also following them as well.

I’m happy to report that the eagle following has become quite large and the public now has a name for us. I am proud to say we are called Eagleholics. I definitely will not be entering a twelve step program for my Eagleholic addiction.

Shine On

BTW,
I’ve got to warn you upfront, it’s very addictive, but if you are interested in following along, you too can become an Eagleholic by watching at:  Pittsburgh Hays Bald Eagle Nest

3 thoughts on “Eagleholic Addiction

Leave a Reply

