A State of Zen

“In every chromosome and gene
Lie all that was, or might have been”
Ray Bradbury

Zen in WritingThe other day I finished reading Ray Bradbury’s book, Zen in the Art of Writing. This book confirmed why I feel I must write daily.

Whether it’s writing 200 word daily blogs or working on my novel, I always get lost in time while I write.

Mr. Bradbury states in this book, “First and foremost, writing reminds us that we are alive and that it is a gift and a privilege, not a right. Not to write, for many of us, is to die”.

He also goes on to say that writing similar to being a musician, you must partake in your craft daily. Because if a musician didn’t practice daily his music would suffer. If he goes two days without practice, the critics would know, and the third day of not playing music, his audiences would know.

So, every day I write. And every time I write, it not only helps my confidence, but I find writing allows me to be in a state of zen.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

