Impossible to Put These Books Down

“Books can be dangerous.
The best ones should be labeled,
‘This could change your life’.”
Helen Exley

Joshua Son of None

Joshua Son of None a novel by Nancy Freedman

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’ve accepted the 2015 “Good Reads” challenge. I pledged to read two books per week this year. That’s double the amount of books I read last year. I love reading, so this will be an enjoyable challenge.

Over the years, there have been a handful of books that I read that I saw as a movie as I read the book. The first book was a novel by Nancy Freedman, “Joshua Son of None”. This book had such an impact on me. I couldn’t get it out of my head. So much so, that a few years after reading this book in the 1970s, I contacted Ms Freedman. I contacted her because I was interested in optioning this book to make it into a film. I was fortunate to sit down with her for several hours and discuss the possibility of an option. She was very warm and interested in my proposition. Unfortunately she passed away a few years back. A deal was never made and a movie was never made. I still hope to see this political thriller in theaters some day.

Another book I read back in the 1970s was the book by Peter Benchley named, “Jaws”. I’m an extremely visual person, so this novel had me on the edge of my seat with the movie that I could see unfolding from this book. Several friends as well as family mocked me for reading a book about a shark. Later, when the movie came out, they remembered I had read the novel and wanted to borrow my “Jaws” book.

The other book I read that people mocked me about was written by one of my favorite authors, Michael Crichton. The book was “Jurassic Park”. This book really scared the dickens out of me with his detail writing, which Crichton was famous. My friends and family stopped mocking me after this summer hit broke all box office records.

These three books stand out in my mind the most when I think of all the books I’ve read in my life. These books also are responsible for my interest in writing. Each of these authors wrote with such compelling dialogue and visually mesmerizing action, that it was impossible to put these books down.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

