Spring Arrived Early

“I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.”
Claude Monet

Orchid

My tooth bearing Phalaenopsis Orchid in full bloom.

I love flowers. All kinds of flowers. My favorites are the daffodil, peony, tulip, daisy, and of course the rose.

Last year for my birthday, my son gifted me an orchid plant.

Not having any knowledge of orchids, I did some research, so that this beautiful flower would keep its bloom as long as possible. On the web site “Caring for your orchid dot com”, they suggested not to over water the plant, and to find a perfect spot where the plant would thrive.

I must be been doing something right, because to my surprise, the blooms on the orchid lasted for several months. After the pedals all fell off, it lay dormant for about seven months. I continued to keep it watered while new leaf growth appeared. Suddenly two weeks ago I noticed a new bud on the orchid. The other morning when I got up, I was excited to see that a beautiful flower had unfolded over night.

The detail on this flowering orchid was so unusual that I took some photos. There’s a feature on the flower I never noticed before. It looks as though it has two bottom teeth. I’m assuming this is a common feature. If not, I might have to name the plant, “Audrey III”, from “Little Shop of Horrors”.

With continued gentle care and watering, hopefully my beautiful delicate flower will flourish. I also plan to add orchids to my list of favorite flowers, as well as adding more orchids to my living room.

By the looks of this orchid blooming at this time of the season, it looks like spring arrived early.

Shine On

One thought on “Spring Arrived Early

  1. Pingback: Spring Visitor | The 2015 Chronicles

Leave a Reply

