King of the Five String World

“A day without sunshine is like, you know, night.”
Steve Martin

Steve Martin

Steve Martin, banjo artist, song writer, play write, author, actor, comedian and singer. A pure genius of an entertainer.

Today while I drove around town taking care of all my chores, I was listening to my favorite music. Well, not only my favorite music but also one of my all time favorite performers. I’ve been a fan of Steve Martin since I was in my teens.

This past July 4th my dear son bought tickets for us to see “Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers” perform at the Hollywood Bowl.

My son knows who Steve Martin is, but he was unaware of the banjo musician side of the man. He had a great time and we both were thoroughly entertained by not only the great music, but by his comedy throughout the performance. A great evening was had by all.

Recently it was announced that Mr. Steve Martin will receive the 43rd AFI Life Achievement Award, one of the highest honors for a career in films. He also just received a Grammy this past week for Best American Roots Song. The song, “Pretty Little One” is from his current album Live (with Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell) and is such an amusing song, everyone should check it out.

I love all his bluegrass music that he has produced the last few years. But the one CD I listen to the most is, “Live”. Not only because it reminds me of the Hollywood Bowl performance, but because each and every song is true perfection. Listening to this CD can even bring tears to my eyes when I listen to the song, “The Great Remember”. It amazes me that one person can have such talent in so many areas of entertainment.

I play the five string banjo and enjoy listening to all kinds of banjo music. I’m thrilled that banjo music is making a huge comeback. I even noticed that recently on “American Idol”, they had a very skillful young female banjo player. You can be sure I’ll be cheering for this gal to win this season.

There was a time when people I knew looked down on banjo music as just silly hillbilly music. But with entertainers such as Steve Martin, Bela Fleck, The Steep Canyon Rangers, and the recent interest in Pete Seeger, I’m glad to say it’s making its way back up the music charts.

In a sea of six strings, in my opinion, Steve Martin is king of the five string world.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

