Funny Girl

“People
People who
need people
Are the luckiest
people in the world.”
Bob Merrill 

Funny Girl Album Cover from 1966 Broadway Show

Funny Girl Album Cover from 1965 Broadway Show

One of my all time favorite musicals “Funny Girl” was on television the other night. I was just a kid when my parents brought this Broadway hit album home in 1965. It didn’t take me long before I had every lyric of every song memorized.

“Funny Girl” became a huge hit, not only as a Broadway Musical but also as a movie. I was too young to see the Broadway version, but I was the first in line at the movie theater with my friends when it was released in September 1968.

I can remember sitting in the movie theater singing along with Streisand as she sang each and every song. My friends were blown away that I knew all the lyrics. Especially since I hadn’t told them I knew all the music. I just thought every kid knew the lyrics. Guess I was wrong.

To my surprise, when I watched the movie the other day, all the lyrics came back to me. How is it I can’t remember what I made for breakfast two days ago, but start playing the music from “Funny Girl” and I start singing along without missing a note or lyric. Guess I’m just a funny girl.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

