Good Writings to Read

“I find television very educating.
Every time somebody turns on the set,
I go into the other room and read a book.”
                                                                                            Groucho Marx

Groucho Marxism

This year I decided that I spend too much time in front of the television. Not that I don’t enjoy watching all the shows with my husband, but if I have to watch another “Mecum Auto Auction, Fast N’ Loud, Bitchin’ Rides or Street Outlaws” just to name a few, I think I’ll scream.

Last year I promised myself that I would read a book a week. I came very close to that goal and missed it by only three books. Actually, I would have exceeded my goal if I had not watched so much television.

Most of the books I read last year were from my friendly public library. This library where I get my books is a beautiful old building from the 1920s situated on exquisite grounds with peacocks wandering throughout the property. I love visiting this library because of its picturesque setting and the fact that it is never busy. I’m always able to get whatever books I want to read without having to wait weeks or days.

My favorite way to read is using the iPad. Most of the books are downloaded to my iPad from the library using OverDrive. I really enjoy reading books on my iPad because of its ease of reading. There’s only one small problem, my husband and I share the iPad, so he has it 90% of the time; usually while he is watching his car shows on the television.

I’m seriously thinking of getting a Kindle. The Kindle might work better for me, because I want to up my goal to over a hundred books to read this year. Between the lack of access to the iPad and spending time driving to the library, it might be worth the few bucks to buy a Kindle. Also, most of the books I want to read this year are the classics, which are all available for free through OverDrive.

Whichever means of reading books I choose this year, I will have my plate full of good writings to read.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

