Dog Day Afternoon

“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.”
                                                                                       Roger Caras

Lexie Dog Day Afternoon

Lexie’s Dog Day Afternoon

Today is a remarkably clear day. The temperature is in the low 60’s with just a slight breeze. A perfect day for a stroll. So, I went for my usual walk this afternoon.

There were lots of people walking, but I noticed the majority of the people out today were walking their dogs. Some people had more than one dog. They had young dogs and old dogs. Watching all the happy owners with their dogs, I spotted one dog that was especially happy. I couldn’t resist but stop and checkout this perky pup.

The puppy was a five month old golden retriever named Lexie. As soon as my eyes met Lexie’s, she came up to greet me immediately. Her friendly and proud owners told me all about her and how they had opted out of a trip to Hawaii to purchase Lexie. “She was their new baby.”

When I got home from my walk, I looked up the meaning of the name Lexie. To my surprise, I learned that the name Lexie means, defender of mankind. What an appropriate name for such a beautiful and loyal animal as a dog.

I wonder if Lexie’s owners are aware of the meaning of their dogs name? I like to believe that they named her Lexie because of what she stands for. But if they aren’t aware, they no doubt understand how special Lexie is and believe a trip to Hawaii is less important than a dog day afternoon.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

