Thinking Positive

“The mind is everything.
What you think you become.” 
Buddha

Eagles in FlightThere’s a book I read this past year, “Wokini:  A Lakota Journey to Happiness and Self-Understanding”, by Billy Mills. “Wokini”, translated from Lakota, means “seeking a new beginning” or “seeking a new vision.” This book taught me about myself, and showed me what it means to be happy. It also guided me on my own personal journey to feel more satisfied in my life.

The book is a wonderful blend of modern therapeutic principles, positive thinking; self-awareness; and Native American beliefs in meditation, thought, dreams, and respect for the harmony and balance of nature.

The reason I was drawn to this book is research for a novel I am working on about a Native American Indian. The protagonist in my story deals with the ever-changing world he lives in and must adapt quickly or not survive. He learns to survive by using his Native American Indian traditions and way of life.

The Wokini way of life and thinking has helped me a great deal this past year. Whenever I feel stressed or angered from the most minuscule thing, I just chant Wokini and do some breathing exercises. My husband thinks I’m nuts, but what he doesn’t realize is that it works and keeps me from bringing negativity into my life and most of all keeps me thinking positive.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

